The Jett (the_jett) wrote,
The Jett
the_jett

  • Mood:

MDC FAQ

FAQ

So this is one of those "World Mergy" thingies. How do our memories work?
Aside from characters that are insane enough to have 4th wall knowledge your memories from before the merge will remain mostly unchanged aside from not remembering that there wasn't always a Gotham or X-men and such. There can be the vague sense that something is 'off' about the memories though, and if someone coming from the timeline of movieverse meets up with someone from the comic book timelines they can handle it as they choose. Either treating it like one of them time traveled or attempting to unravel the mystery of why their memories don't match up. Or at their discression (since this is AU) they can always treat it as though they are meeting each other for the first time.

Gotham's not on the East Coast anymore!? Neither is Metropolis? What? How am I supposed to keep track of these changes?!?
Some locations got shuffled around when the Brothers changed everything. If you need to know where something is please consult the MDC World Map.

I want some boylove! Is that allowed?
Considering the existence of characters like Midnighter, Appolo, Batwoman, and Rainmaker, this shouldn't even be an issue. But since you asked; We accept Het, Lesbian, Homosexual, Bisexual, Hermafrisexual, we're pretty open minded. NC17 and X-rated scenes are allowed, just please put them behind an lj-cut and include a warning somewhere in either the description or the cut text so that people who don't wish to view that stuff know what they're getting into when they click the link.

Alright! I've got muses!! How many of them can I use?
You can have up to 3 characters to start with. However, if you're taking an amalgam character, that character counts as two of your characters (or all three, if the amalgam is a 2/1 split). If you are active and wish to have more than 3 characters, you may apply for one. If you are unsure if you are active enough to handle more than 3 characters, contact a moderator to check.

Do I have to play an amalgam character?
Not at all. Amalgams are just an extra option. No one needs to take them to be able to play, but if you want them, the option is there.

I'd like to apply for Belldandy/Goku/The Major/Ichigo/other anime or manga character. Can I?
Wait...did you say Major Motoko? Damn she'd be really cool to have around. But unfortunately I'm going to have to say no. The only anime/manga characters we will consider are the Marvel Mangaverse characters, and even then it might not be accepted.

Hmm...You said Amalgam characters are welcome here. How about Lobo the Duck?
You just love to make things difficult don't you? But to answer your question; Yes. That character would be allowed. And I say this only because the mainstream DCU has "Detective Chimp".

What about more straightforward amalgams, such as Super Soldier or Iron Lantern?
We allow those characters. We also encourage you (if one or both of the characters in the amalgam are taken) to use an alternate incarnation of a character to complete the amalgam. In some cases this will even make it more interesting that it would have otherwise been (I.E., The Superman of one world is called Ultra Man, and is evil. He's got a different back story and motivation than Superman, so an amalgam with him would produce a potentially different version of Super Soldier).

I want to play Dark Claw, but Logan is already taken! Do I still have a chance?
You do, but it would have to be a different version of the character, ex. Dark Claw could be an amalgam of X23 and Batgirl, or Wolverine's Son and Nightwing. You could also use an unused Logan from an alternate Earth.

We already have *Insert Marvel Character Here*, can I play the ultimates version?
It depends on how different the character is. For example, the Ultimates Tony Stark (if I remember right) is someone named Antonio Stark. He's not the same person so he would be playable. However, Ultimate Spiderman is still Peter Parker, so if we've already got him that would make things a bit awkward.

What about Alternate Earth heroes?
On the whole; no. There can be exceptions however. (EX: Helena Bertinelli is normally the Huntress, but in one alternate Earth, she's Batwoman, replacing Bruce Wayne in that universes reality.)

Someone is playing Bruce Wayne: Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.! Can I play Jason Todd or Dick Grayson as Batman?
Yes, yes you can.

"My character has NPC followers. What can or can't I do with them?"
You have control over your nameless npc minions, but remember you don't have an infinite supply of them. Also, if you plan on invading with an army or some such thing, you'll have to figure out how to get that many people from point A to point B, as well as the political ramifications that will befall whatever land you're invading from. Of course, if your last name is Von Doom, you probably don't care.

Say you play a character like Anarky, Robin, etc. who rely on gadgets in fights. Do they just, automatically have them, or do they need to take the time to build them, or buy them, even?
Most of the characters who utilize gadgets have been shown to build and develop them themselves. We don't really expect you to have to make posts about building them, but mentioning utility maintenance once in a while would be appreciated.

I want to reserve a character! How do I do it?
Send a mod either a PM or an Instant Message via the contact info on mdc_multiverse's userinfo page telling them what character you'd like to reserve.

Alright, did that, WOO! How long do I have to make my app?
I'm glad you asked. Reserves will be held for two weeks, after which point the character will be removed from the list.

Oh no! I procrastinated waited too long to fill out my app! What do I do now?
You can either finish your app and post it without the reserve, or you can wait 7 days and then renew your reserve.

Why seven days?
This is to prevent people from infinitely renewing their reserve while never actually completing the application.

What if there's someone playing Maxx and someone playing Hulk and the two characters amalgamate? Do both players play the amalgam?
Well, it would be up to the two players. Because you'd have to talk to the Hulks player before creating the amalgam. It's possible you guys could have joint control, with each of you making posts for the character.

Would a new account have to be made?
Only if the amalgam was going to be permanent. If it's going to end at some point then you could continue using the journal(s) you have, but maybe with some shopped icons added to represent the new existence.

[Main Community] [OOC] [Application] [FAQ] [Character Wishlist]
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

  • 0 comments